The Economic Development Authority (EDA)

The Economic Development Authority (EDA) of the City of Portsmouth is a political subdivision of the Commonwealth of Virginia created by City Council in 1968. The EDA is comprised of seven (7) City Council-appointed Commissioners serving staggered four (4) year terms. A few of the powers specifically granted to Economic Development Authorities by the General Assembly include the authority to: acquire or dispose of property at, below or above market value; own or lease property; make loans or grants, and issue Council-approved bonds. The EDA uses its powers to work closely with the Department of Economic Development to attract and retain business and support development in Portsmouth.

For more information about serving as a board member, please contact the City Clerk’s office.

EDA Board Members

Malcom Mitchell, Chair

Neal J. Barber - Vice Chair

Theresa Saunders Smith - Treasurer

Anthony Brown

Barbara Smith

Matthew James

Joe Harmon

Meeting Agendas, Minutes, and Videos